You Win Some, You Lose Some

Just when you think it is safe to start blogging again, life gets crazy. I’m recommitting this week to doing more personal writing, and this is step 1.

Back in January Miss P and I went back to her preschool tumbling/gym class. We both sustained injuries in a fall there in late October, so our return to class was tinged with trepidation.

Nearly all of the same parents & kids were there and they expressed happiness to see us again. They asked about our recovery and said they had been rooting for us. That felt nice.

In February one of the other moms returned with her daughter after an absence due to her giving birth and caring for a newborn.  I was sitting nearby when one of the moms came up to her and said “we were going to call you but no one had your number!”. I didn’t think much of it since people form their own friendships.

Later that day and in the following two weeks other parents from the tumbling class came up to her and said the same thing. From what I can suss out from bits and pieces of overheard conversation, ALL of the other parents and children from the tumbling class are getting together on Mondays to hang out and do activities together.  This has never been mentioned to me or my daughter, and we’ve never been asked to participate.

I’ll admit, it stings.  I thought maybe it was due to the age difference between me and the other parents, but there is one other over-40 mom in the group and she is included. I guess I need to switch deodorant.

Another activity we are involved in is Mothers of Preschoolers (MOPs).  I joined MOPs and tumbling to have activities for Miss P, but both have actually provided me with a social outlet and get me out of the house, too.

After the MOPs meeting yesterday I was approached by another mom and asked to be on the steering committee for our local MOPs chapter for the coming year. I am by far the oldest mom in the group (by at least a decade) but it was flattering to be asked, and I accepted.

I thought about it all the way home, how it felt to be asked to be in a leadership role in one community while being ignored in another. Life is strange.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Dilemma | The New Adventures of an Old (First Time) Mom - March 16, 2016

Leave a Reply

