Almost A Year!

I’ve been thinking a lot about posting here lately, but couldn’t find the time until today, then I see that the last time I posted was in January! Time flies when you are having fun.

2015 has been a weird year.  Our house was broken into. My husband turned 56, I turned 43, and Miss P had a spectacular 3rd birthday that has made her a birthday party enthusiast.

My husband lost his job in May but got another one a couple of months later. This one has benefits (the other did not) but the commute is an hour each way. When we finally get back on our feet again we’re looking to move to where his job is, which is where we used to live.

Miss P started a pee wee gym class when she turned 3 and she loved it. We would run laps together before it started and I managed to trip and fall and bring her down with me. I messed up my right knee and she as a minor collarbone fracture. Thank God for insurance but the medical bills are insane even with it!  We’re both healing up nicely, though.

The week before our gym incident I was offered a part time work from home job with a former employer. They’re paying me quite well for 25 hours a week. I’ve got no set schedule so I can work early in the morning before Miss P gets up and after she goes to bed, plus do all our Mommy & Me type activities during the week.  It’s a blessing.

I’m still writing for the main client I’ve been writing for. We just passed the one year mark and they keep expanding my role. This is also a blessing.

I used to have super great luck but then it went away. It seems to be back. I’ve entered three contests in the last three weeks and won them all:

  1. A coupon prize pack from a local coupon group that included some fantastic coupons I’m never able to get my hands on.
  2. A half dozen delicious cupcakes from a new bakery opening up in the area (they even delivered!).
  3. A workout DVD from a workout website I’ve been dying to try but has been slightly out of our budget.

In health news I’m down about 5 lbs from where I started the year, which is nice since I haven’t done much to make that happen. I’m starting Trim Healthy Mama in earnest on Monday, though I’ve been loosely following the plan for about a month.

I’d start now but we’re going to a wedding out of town this weekend and I just don’t have the strength to try to figure out how to keep it up this early in the game out of town with limited food choices. I’ll just do the best I can.

I know my outlook at this point in the year is much better than it was in January or even this time last year. Things are good.

Having a three year old is awesome.

She mentioned birthdays again yesterday and I was reminded the three year old has a shelf life and turns 4 in 2016. Wow.

Here’s hoping you have a great Christmas, a terrific New Year and a blessed 2016. I’ll try to get back here more often.

 

Leave a Reply

