Sleep Cycle

As I write this my daughter is currently napping on the floor right in front of the door to her bedroom.  She is in the bedroom, the door is closed and she is in front of it, blocking it from being opened.  She does this pretty much every day.

About a half hour ago she woke from her nap crying but I recognized it as the cry of “I am still tired” and that she would go back to sleep.  For some reason her nap cycle is only about an hour long, but if I read her right I can occasionally get a two hour nap stretch out of her.  I’m working on that today.

It’s November, nearing December, and I’m feeling the effects of S.A.D., even down here in sunny Florida.  Life is actually going better than I had hoped, and yet there is some melancholy.

Finances are finally starting to loosen up for us after a wretched October.  I snagged an amazing freelance writing opportunity that is keeping me busy in my non-mom time.

And now I’m thinking about the new year, and what that needs to look like.  I think I spend too much time doing these three things:

  • Playing Uno on the Kindle
  • Playing Diner Dash on the Kindle
  • Arguing in online forums

I want to stop spending “free time” in mindless pursuits.  I mean, sure, every once in a while, but these days I’m being a bit obsessive about it, so my plan is to cut those things out entirely.  Here’s what I’ve done so far:

  • Deleted Diner Dash from the Kindle
  • Deleted my Babycenter account
  • Removed myself from a couple of mom groups on Facebook

I really need to just go ahead and delete Uno but I haven’t done it yet.  I hope to do it in the next week or two, but if not, then I’m pulling the plug December 31.  I’m also going to practice not engaging in posts on Facebook that I feel strongly about.  I’m giving these things far too much head space.

Things I want to do more of:

  • Fun activities with my daughter
  • Writing, for fun and for profit
  • Sleeping, where possible
  • Running

I can do more of these things if I do less of the time suck stuff.  Cold turkey is hard, but I’m up for the challenge.

Leave a Reply

