A Year in the Life

Birhday Candle

Birhday Candle (Photo credit: Andrew J.Swan)

One year ago today at just after 7 am my water broke.  I was scheduled to be induced on August 9th due to gestational hypertension and gestational diabetes, but 28 hours prior to my water breaking I had started having contractions.  I was thrilled.  And then my water broke and everything became a blur of pain until the sweet, blessed epidural was administered.

Ten hours in labor and delivery, a few short minutes of pushing and out came this raw, intense little creature with a shock of dark hair, vivid blue eyes and an indignant expression.  “Well, I’m here.  Now what?”

I fell in love.

Motherhood has been sometimes scary, oftentimes difficult, but always rewarding.  I have cried and screamed and punched my pillow in frustration, eaten too much chocolate, said things under my breath I shouldn’t have said, said things aloud I shouldn’t have said.  But always, always having this sweet lovely in my arms has made it all worth it.

She is funny and charming and smart as hell.  She astonishes me with how quickly she can grasp a concept.  She is an incessant babbler.  She is cautiously taking her first steps.  She loves animals and being outside.  She has her daddy and I both wrapped around her little finger.  She is vibrant and miraculous.

Somehow we have managed to keep her alive for a whole year. (Here’s to many more.)

Miss P, my incredible daughter, you are the love of my life.  Thank you for being my baby.  Happy first birthday!

Love, Momma

Leave a Reply

