Momma Hack!

As I’ve blogged before, I’ve got a catnapper.  She’s down to 2 naps per day (most days) and they are only 30 minutes each.  I nurse her to sleep in the guest room, then lay her on the bed to finish her nap.  She won’t nap in her crib, period.

A 30 minute nap is better than nothing, but since she isn’t safely in her crib I’ve had to stay in there with her to make sure she doesn’t fall off the bed.  This is great when I’d like a little catnap of my own, but lately I’ve been itching to do more unpacking and decluttering.  Most of it is back in the bedrooms, and I can’t have her back there with me because it’s unsafe for her if I take my attention off her for a second.

I’d like to be able to leave her sleeping on the guest bed and still get things done.  We have a video monitoring system but it isn’t wireless and it would be a pain to move the camera back and forth and move the monitor part from room to room.  So I’ve been stuck in there with her cooling my heels until she wakes up.

I had one of those shower epiphanies the other day and decided to give it a try.

We got new cell phones in April.  We replaced our HTC Incredibles (first generation) with HTC Incredible 4G LTEs.  We love them.  Miss P loves playing games on my phone so I kept the old phone loaded with her games and I keep it charged up for her to use in the car.

It won’t connect for calls, but it will connect to the WiFi in our house.  I wondered if I might not be able to connect it to Skype with either my cell phone or my laptop on Skype so I could watch her nap while I did other things.

Well, it didn’t work.

The HTC Incredible doesn’t have a front facing camera and Skype would only connect via voice.  While this would be ok in some situations, she’s very quiet when waking up from naps so I needed to be able to SEE her.

I decided to try Google Hangouts, just in case that would work, and it did!  All I have to do it point the rear camera at her and I can carry my phone around with me and see her no matter where I am in the house.  Here’s what it looks like:

Miss P on video

She looks like she’s sleeping on the wall because I had to put the camera near her upside down to be able to see her properly. The room is also rather dark.

Both phones are on the WiFi so it isn’t using any of our data plan.

I was able to get quite a bit done during her two naps yesterday.  My big project has been cleaning out bags and boxes from our bedroom closet and I’m nearly half done with that.  She sleeps soundly, and as soon as she starts stirring I return to the room and catch her before she flings herself off the bed onto the hardwood floor.  I’m so happy it worked!

Leave a Reply

