Just One Of Those Days

Helen Island, Helen Reef, Palau. Original desc...

Helen Island, Helen Reef, Palau. “a classic desert island ” (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was going to say that I hope I don’t offend anyone with this post, but to be honest, I don’t really care whether I offend some internet stranger.  This is real life.

There will be days as a mom when you will want to throw in the towel.  You will want to run away from home, pack your bags and move to Tahiti, or to a deserted island where you can finish a cup of yogurt all by yourself or use the bathroom without a (screaming) audience.

You will want to be alone.

This mothering shit is HARD.  Like, master class in frustration hard. Calculus when you are drunk hard.  Driving a straight line with a rabid squirrel in your underpants hard.

Today was one of those days for me.

After a long night with virtually no sleep, the little princess didn’t want to nap and I was desperate for one.  After an hour of trying to force her to nap (and getting 10 minutes of sleep out of her, none for me) I was about to lose my mind.  I didn’t hurt her, but I did do some yelling at the sky, cabinet door slamming and beating a dish towel against the countertop.  I’m not proud of how I acted, but I can at least control myself better than MY mother ever could.

My husband’s new job is pretty flexible so he arrived home just after noon and offered to let me take a nap.  I went into the bedroom, put my head on the pillow, and instantly wanted that sweet little warm body curled up next to mine while I slept.

I could move to Tahiti to get away from her, but I’d have to take her with me.  I cannot live without that kid.

Leave a Reply

