More Mommy Guilt

books

books (Photo credit: brody4)

On Thursdays, we go to story time at the library.  They have one specifically for babies, and it is a lot of fun.  We’ve been going for a few months now, though the program shut down from the end of March until the end of May.  This was our second week back.

Today there was a new kid in the program, a little boy.  When I asked him mom how old he was she said “he is 10 months today” and I blinked and said “Wow!  She just turned 10 months old yesterday.”  Turns out he was born the day after her.

As we were talking he began to crawl across the rug.  “This is new.  He just started doing it yesterday.”

“What, the crawling?” She nodded.  I bit my lip.  Miss P has been crawling for almost 4 months now.

I know my daughter is advanced for her age.  I don’t like to rub people’s faces in this.  I certainly didn’t want to do it to this woman, and any talk of P’s exploits around the house, particularly yesterday’s incident where she stood up by herself and played with a bunch of hangers in a basket.  She wasn’t holding on to anything or anyone, just standing there waving hangers around.

For her part, the mom didn’t seem at all concerned.  I mean, the kid is hitting milestones within the proper time frame.  I just didn’t want to make her feel like there was something wrong with him.

I suspect the issue was my problem, and not hers.

Leave a Reply

