My 10 Month Miracle

English: Miracle Carousel 1960

English: Miracle Carousel 1960 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today Miss P turns 10 months old.  In just 2 months she’ll be a year old and I cannot believe how fast time has gone by.

This past weekend we went to my dad’s for a quick trip.  We haven’t been there since January, and the difference was remarkable!  In January I would lay her on the play mat in the sitting room and she would play happily while I helped cook meals and clean up.

This time?  Keeping her from breaking some object older than me was the name of the game.  My grandparents have a house full of breakables that are older than my dad and they aren’t childproofed at all.  Not that I expect them to be, it just turned out to be quite a challenge.

My grandmother remarked that she was proud of how I’ve slimmed down.  This was as I was diving to keep the baby from climbing face first of the couch.  My dad said “and that’s how she does it!”

One morning I was in the living room with little miss, letting her crawl around and explore.  She had discovered something and was dragging it towards me as she crawled, and as I watched her coming toward me it struck me what a miracle she is.  My body housed this amazing creature for 10 months and then pushed her out into the world where she could grow and learn.  Just incredible.

At 10 months old, Miss P is vibrant and active.  She has a voice and a mind of her own.  She has an insatiable curiosity about the world around her, and she is convinced that I should never be out of her line of sight.

As much as I didn’t like the newborn time, I am grateful that I got to experience it and I cherish every late night feeding and bathtime screech.  However, I’m having more fun with her now than I ever thought possible.  Every day is a miracle, getting to watch her grow and learn and discover.  It is an amazing thing, watching a child grow.

She’s not walking yet, but I think she’s right on the verge.

I can’t wait to see what the next 10 months bring.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

