Family

Our entry hall.  That little pink jacket makes my day.

Our entry hall. That little pink jacket (and the girl who wears it) makes my day.

Last night when my husband got home, Miss P and I were upstairs in the guest room.  When our area went through a cold snap recently I moved all of Miss P’s floor toys up to the guest room since the floor is carpeted there and we can keep those rooms warm without having the heat up really high.  Things are warmer here now but I haven’t bothered to move her toys back downstairs.

Miss P was on the floor and I was sitting on the bed on my laptop trying to figure out the name and composer of a song on one of her toys. I recognized the tune but the specifics were driving me crazy.

I put Pandora on the Baby Einstein channel and he picked up the baby and carried her over to the bed.  I skipped past the first song on Pandora (not it) and then skipped the second one, and then the third came on.  I started to skip it but realized it was probably my most favorite song of all time – Somewhere Over the Rainbow – in my most favorite rendition – the one by Israel Kamakawiwo’ole. (Listen to it here.)

I started singing along and my daughter looked at me and began to smile.  And I started to cry.

Somewhere over the rainbow
Blue birds fly
And the dreams that you dreamed of
Dreams really do come true

This precious little girl is such a dream come true.  Once upon a time I gave up on being a mother.  I never believed it would actually happen and yet here she is.  She made us into a family.  I am in awe of this blessing that has been bestowed upon me, this little miracle that has been entrusted to my care.

I’m going to go snuggle my girl now.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

