Positive Customer Service Experience

Back in October I purchased a play mat for my daughter, the Bright Starts Jammin’ Jungle Activity Gym.  From the first day I put her in it, she latched on to the elephant.  This is a plush toy that hangs down and when you pull on the ring attached to it, it plays one of five catchy little songs.

She spent about two weeks yanking on it before she finally got it to work on her own.  The elephant has continued to be a focus for her.

English: A female African Bush Elephant raises...

English: A female African Bush Elephant raises her trunk as a warning sign in Mikumi National Park, Tanzania (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I took the play mat with me over Thanksgiving to my dad’s house.  It’s a fantastic toy because it folds up, and it made the 2.5 hour trip well.  Then about halfway through the week the elephant started malfunctioning.  It would play almost all of the first song, but only a few seconds of any other song.

This did not please her royal cuteness.

Her dad and I both checked the elephant carefully and could not find a way to open it and change the batteries.  I had thrown away both the receipt and the packaging, so I went online and discovered that the batteries in the elephant are not replaceable.  Bummer.

I knew we’d only had the item a couple of months, but since I didn’t save any of the packaging or paperwork I figured I’d have to buy a replacement elephant, so I went on the website and clicked on “Replacement Parts”.  I assumed I’d be ordering the part, but I was sent to a comment form where I had to fill in my information, describe the piece and problem, and then provide some information about the product that was printed on the tags attached to it.

I did so and received an email advising someone would be back to me within 2 business days.  A couple of hours later I received an email asking me to provide some additional information: verify my mailing address and provide the month and year of purchase or gifting and the location of purchase if I knew it.

I told them I didn’t have a receipt but I had purchased it on October 14 at the Walmart near my home.  I was able to provide that information because I unwrapped it the following day and put her in it and then snapped a picture.  I found the picture on my phone and looked at the details to get the date.

I was rather disappointed that the elephant malfunctioned just 6 weeks after purchase.  My daughter isn’t a toy monster and the jungle receives what I would consider normal usage.  No one did anything unusual to the elephant to cause the malfunction (and no, I didn’t write any of this in my email).

The following morning I received a response from the company: a plush elephant would be shipped to me and should arrive withing 5-7 business days.

I couldn’t be more pleased with the service I received.  Miss P is going to be thrilled when her elephant starts working again.

Leave a Reply

