My Inspiration

This post is brought to you by Zemanta. Zemanta is a social blogging plug-in suggesting related posts, images and tags to spice up your blogging. Get it at Zemanta.com.

My beautiful girl.

This is my inspiration for blogging.  Her name is Penny.

I’ve been blogging since before blogging was a thing.  Back before blogs existed we called them “websites” and we did all of the html coding by hand.  True story.  I used to write about the things I loved and the things I hated and someone sent me an email through my site about something called a weblog.  I fell in love with it pretty quickly.

I’ve written about nearly everything under the sun over the last decade, but the one thing I wanted to be was a mommy blogger.  That was a tough thing to even think about when I was battling bad relationships and then infertility.  The closest I could get was writing a short-lived blog last year about an unexpected pregnancy that ended tragically.

I am thrilled that I have finally joined the ranks of the mommy bloggers.  I am thrilled to finally be a mom.

After wrestling her royal cuteness into bed at night, I sit down in front of my computer and review our day together.  What did she learn to do? What did I learn from her?  The process of becoming mother and daughter is so different from how I thought it would be, especially at my age.

I write about her because I love her, and I love who I am becoming because of her.  I find motherhood as a 40-something to be different from what I read from the 20-somethings and 30-somethings on other blogs.  She will be in college while her father and I are dealing with retirement.  I’m a first time mother at a time when most of my high school classmates and friends are becoming first time grandparents.

I can’t be the only woman out there experiencing motherhood at this age, and I want to share what I’m learning so that those women don’t feel so alone.  My daughter may be the smartest and the most beautiful, but her mom is just another middle-aged mom muddling through and trying her best.

This is where I preserve the frustration and the magic of my little inspiration.

Leave a Reply

