Update on the Dryer Balls

I posted recently that I bought some wool dryer balls from an etsy shop called CleanSypria. The intention was to use these mostly on our cloth diapers, but also to stop using dryer sheets whenever possible and to (hopefully) shorten drying time.

When I got the balls in the mail I was almost done doing laundry so I only used them on a half-load of clothes (my delicates, as I was afraid my husband’s work clothes would end up smelling like pearberry).  I didn’t have any other laundry to do so I was waiting for a pile-up so I could try them again.

Dryer balls at the Soap Dispensary

Dryer balls at the Soap Dispensary (Photo credit: Christine Rondeau)

I was impatient so the next day I decided to wash our bathroom rug.  We only have one rug in our master bathroom, a Better Homes and Gardens Memory Foam Bath Mat.  I love the bath mat but it has one major drawback: it can take FOREVER to dry when it is soaked.

The first time I washed this mat I stuck it in the dryer for 70 minutes on high and it came out feeling dry to the touch but when I put it on the floor and stepped on it, it was still soaking wet, so I dried it once more and had the same issue, but left it on the floor and it eventually dried out.

The second time I dried it, I put it on the maximum setting, 100 minutes.  I dried it 3 times for 100 minutes on high and it was still wet when I stepped on it, though not soaked.

The third time I dried it, I put it in the dryer for 70 minutes, then put it out in the sun to dry for the rest of the day.  That got it completely dry, but it took the whole day and I hesitate to do that very often because it is a luscious dark brown color and I don’t want it to fade.

So today I tried the drying it with all 4 of the wool dryer balls.  I dried it on high for 70 minutes (the length of a webinar I was attending) and when I pulled it out, it was dry to the touch.  I put it on the floor and stepped on it, and it was DRY!  Complete dry.

To say I’m thrilled would be an understatement.

I don’t know if all wool dryer balls are created equal, all I know is the ones from CleanSypria were the best deal I could find online.  I did look at a couple of natural stores in the area and didn’t find any that sold them.  You can also make your own with this tutorial, but frankly, I’ve got better things to do.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Homemade Laundry Detergent | Cliopatra’s Writings - January 30, 2013

Leave a Reply

