Diaper Prep

While we’re still lacking quite a few items for baby, we have the basics to get through the first few weeks:

1.  Bassinet

2.  Boobs

3.  Basic clothing.

Diaper Central

Diaper Central (Photo credit: girlonthewire)

The only thing truly missing is diapers.  I say that, but it’s not 100% true.

I did pick up a package of newborn disposable diapers from Whole Foods the other day to minimize exposure to chemicals.  I’m not interested in trying to clean meconium poo out of cloth diapers the first few days so I’m hoping that will hold us over.  After that I think I will switch to flats until baby gets big enough to put in some other cloth diapers.

I have about 2 dozen flats that my grandmother gave me that I’m prepping today.  She had these diapers in a big bag that had been opened, and to help out she washed them before she gave them to me, but she also used fabric softener on them so I’m currently boiling that out on the stove.  I’ve got two large pots bubbling away as I type this.

I bought three diaper covers (rubber pants) at the local cloth diaper store, as well as an Econobum trial pack (one pink-edged cover and one prefold), some super soft cloth wipes and some Snappis diaper fasteners.  A girlfriend gave me a bunch of baby stuff that included some flats and prefolds she used as burp cloths, so I am prepping those to use for diapers, too.

Yesterday I bought a bunch of all-in-ones (AIOs) and all-in-twos (AI2s) as a package from a website and those should be here in a week or two.  I also purchased some bamboo soaker inserts and wet bags  from a Facebook coop that should take a few weeks to get here as well.

All in all I think I’ve spent about $200 or so on a stash that should hopefully last me until she’s potty trained.  That’s the plan, anyway.

I’ll probably buy a few more items, like some additional cloth wipes and a few Flips diaper covers to go over the flats.  Then we should be all set!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Diaper Prep”

  1. carlinste says :

    Thanks for linking my post on your blog. You have a nice post here. Good luck with your prepping and your pregnancy.

  2. Sheri says :

    Thank you for linking to our post. I think you will love flats! We really love them at Franklin Goose and get so excited whenever people choose to go with them! Good luck! If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Leave a Reply

