Catnapper

As I write this, I am peering over the top of my laptop at Miss P.  She is in the midst of a nap, one that is about 19 minutes shy of the 2 hour mark.

A TWO HOUR NAP.

Of course, her eyelids are beginning to crack a bit, and she is starting to move around, so this could be the beginning of the end of this nap but again I say – TWO HOURS! Or almost, anyway.  Time will tell.

That may not seem like a big deal to you, but to me, a two hour nap is unheard of.

You see, I have a catnapper.

Since she exited the newborn stage a little while back, Miss P would take these maddeningly short naps during the day.  Occasionally they would only be 10 minutes or so at a time, and they were never predictable.  It wasn’t until a trip to visit family at Thanksgiving that she developed a napping pattern: she needed to go down for a nap every 2 hours and those naps would last approximately 26 to 30 minutes.  No more, no less.

So the good news was, we had a schedule/pattern.  Even better news was I could actually PUT HER DOWN during these naps.  On the couch, on the bed, on the floor, wherever.  I was finally free to do things while she napped.

Do you know how much you can get done in 30 minutes?  Not a whole lot, but with enough prep work it can add up.  Throw in a load of laundry, make a bed, stuff some cloth diapers, go to the bathroom, anything is possible!  I once even took a shower!

2 kittens taking a nap

2 kittens taking a nap (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Lately she has been stretching the time between naps from 2 hours to 3 hours, sometimes even 4 hours.  I will try to get her down, but no dice.  I thought stretching time between naps meant the naps would consolidate and get longer, but I was wrong.

She will occasionally nap for an hour (maybe once every 2 weeks), but rarely do her naps exceed 30 minutes.  I was discussing this with my sister in law and she was shocked.  Her son (my nephew) took these wonderful 3 hour naps every few hours.  Lucky her.

So today after waking up too early (6 am, her dad brought her to me while I was still sleeping) and having a nap at 8 (for 30 minutes) I changed her diaper and brought her upstairs to the guest room to nurse (it’s warmer up here).  I brought my half-dead cell phone and my almost-dead Kindle since I didn’t want to leave her up here by herself for the nap.

And she slept, and she slept, and she slept.

I’ve raced downstairs a couple of times, once to turn down the heat and once to get my laptop.  I figured grabbing the laptop (shortly before starting this post) would be the magical thing that would wake her.  Apparently she just really needed the sleep.  I know she did because she was getting purple bags under her eyes.

Nine minutes until the 2 hour mark.  About 2 minutes ago she opened her eyes, let out a little cry and then went back to sleep.  I’d better wrap this up.  Happy Wednesday!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

